The Euphoria of an Award

15th April 2013 will remain a red lettered day in the annals of my school’s history. It was this day we were presented with the Khalifa Award for excellence in education in the educational institutions category. When our Acting Principal, Mrs Asma Gilani collected the Certificate of Excellence, a gleaming trophy and a prize of AED 100,000 we made our tryst with destiny. We are the Best of the Best, the first Indian School to win this coveted award. Moreover we are the first amongst the GEMS Schools to get into this ivy league.

OOS

In 2010 March when I walked down the blue and white portals of this School as Senior Supervisor, little did I realize that I would be part of the history making phase. We saw leadership changes. We embarked on and embraced change. We saw us taking giant strides in improving the quality of our exam results – 100% is the norm here. It is a matter of pride that from just about 7% students with an aggregate score of 90% in the Class XII board examination in 2010 we catapulted to 35% 90+ scorers in 2012.

We are such a huge school. Just about 8000 students. 😉 Yet, what makes us winners? What do we do differently? On introspection, I think it is all of these:

  • Amazing teamwork. No one competes here against one another. All for the school. It is one for all and all for one. 
  • Super teachers – in my 29 years of being in education, I am yet to find a more dedicated and focussed lot.
  • A great set of students who love and cherish every aspect of the school. Most of the students are self motivated and bring loads of laurels to their alma mater – be it in academics or co-curriculars.
  • Great leadership with an all encompassed vision.
  • A huge community of support staff who are the cogs in our wheel and keep the systems moving.
  • Phenomenal systems in place – so much so that the school can easily run on autopilot!
  • We do boast of a very low teacher attrition rate. When teachers leave, it is mostly to relocate to their home countries.
  • A very supportive parent community who engage with us whenever needed – substitution, trips, sponsorship and in scores of other areas.
  • If I may also add it is a happy school – so less stress for all and more smiles around!

To each one of you who helped us leave golden footprints in the sands of time – here’s a toast to your effort and Gracias! Merci!!

Khalifa Award

I am proud to be part of this wonderful institution. Awards and Prizes bring more responsibilities and challenges in their wake. Yes, we need to keep improving. We need to tweak and fine tune things. We need to work harder than ever. Complacency should never set in… So even while basking in the euphoria of this fabulous achievement, my mind reaches out to the enchanting final stanza of ‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening‘ by one of my favourite poets – Robert Frost.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Yes, I do have miles to go. We do have miles to go… ahead with our responsibilities and commitments. Make every impossible possible. Make every difference in each child – all of whom have been so trustingly entrusted to us! Cheers to us!!! 🙂 😀 We surely rock!!!!!!!!

Resources:

  1. http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/uae/education/sharjah-our-own-girls-school-gets-award-1.1170797 Photo credit also to this article.
  2. 2nd phot0 credit: http://www.gemsoo-sharjah.com/home.php
6 thoughts on “The Euphoria of an Award

  1. Congratulations ma’m,your success story is amazing.It was interesting to read your introspection .I wish we can learn something from your school.All the factors highlighted are so very essential for a smooth and effective functioning of a school.I can almost feel the joy of being in such a school….A Dream School indeed.!!!…

    Like

  2. Congrats, Asha. I know how elated you would be feeling. Do keep up the good work alongwith your team! We are all very PROUD of YOU. Best Wishes for lot more greater achievments.

    Nisha

    Like

    • Thank you Nisha. I know I have a fabulous family that has supported me always and I attribute my self esteem and confidence is because of that. Without both I won’t be a good human being / professional. So you all too have subtly played a role. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dear Asha ma’am…I have not met you personally, but have heard great things about you from Roshni, Viju and many of the teachers at OOEHS….your words about the school, it’s staff, it’s kids and the parent community there are great indeed. I feel very proud and happy to have worked there in the senior school from 2006 to 2010. I truly cherish my memories of my time spent there. Congratulations to Asma ma’am, you and all the other teachers, staff and kids on this fantastic award and achievement.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Geetha. Same here – I too have heard of a lot of good things about you too from various quarters. It’s sad we did not work together.
      I surlely shall pass on your congrats to the OOS team! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

